Go Back

The Certification in Risk Management Assurance (CRMA)

Addresses fundamental elements to unlocking the potential of internal auditing. It demonstrates an individual's ability to give advice and assurance on risk management to executive management and audit committees.

Read More

Total Certified CRMA internal auditors by region:


Asia Pacific


Central/South America


Middle East​

No Country

North America​

Grand Total: 15,834
No country refers to individuals who did not specify a country of residence on their profile.
Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility Requirements

Candidates for the CRMA certification must meet the following eligibility requirements for education, character, work experience, and identification. Before approval of a candidate application, all documentation (character reference, proof of education, and identification) must be received and approved by the IIA's Certification staff.

  • Candidate must have successfully completed requirements and passed Part 1 of the CIA exam. This can be done before, during or after the completion of the CRMA exam, but must be done before certification is granted.
  • Candidates must hold an Associate's degree or higher. Common equivalents are a Diploma of Higher Education, Foundation Degree, Higher National Diploma, or three A-level certificates with a grade of C or higher.
  • CRMA candidates must have a high professional and moral character. A Character Reference Form signed by a CCSA, CIA, CFSA, CRMA or the candidate's supervisor must be submitted.
  • Candidates are to submit proof of identification with a copy of an official passport or national identity card. Expired documents will not be accepted.
  • Candidates may apply to the certification program and sit for exams before obtaining the required work experience, but they will not be certified until the experience requirement is met within the program eligibility period. CRMA requirements for work experience is as follows:
  • Master's Degree (or equivalent): 12 months auditing or controls-related business experience
  • Bachelor's Degree (or equivalent): 24 months - auditing or controls-related business experience
  • Associate's Degree, three A-level Certificates with grade C or higher (or equivalent): 60 months auditing and controls-related business experience

Exam Syllabus

The CRMA exam comprises two sections. Part 1 of the CIA exam and a separate CRMA exam consisting of 100 mutiple-choice questions covering four domains. The exam requires a completion time of two hours. Candidates who have previously successfully passed Part 1 of the CIA exam can advance to the CRMA core exam, after fulfilling the eligibility requirement.

The CRMA exam core content covers four domains:

  • Domain I: Organizational governance related to risk management (25-30%)
  • Domain II: Principles of risk management processes (25-30%)
  • Domain III: Assurance role of the Internal Auditor (20-25%)
  • Domain IV: Consulting role of the Internal Auditor (20-25%)


Register to become a member of the IIA Saudi Arabia.

Request a Call Back or Download our Brochure

Request a call-back from us or download our brochure for the information you may require.

Request a Call Back Download Brochure